The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction – the UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman – is delighted to announce the 2014 shortlist.

This year’s six shortlisted books were whittled down from a twenty-strong longlist, which can be found here. The shortlist boasts one previous Orange Prize winner, one previously shortlisted author and three debut novelists.

Chair judge, Helen Fraser, describes the shortlist as, “brilliant, original and gripping.”

The judges must now choose an overall winner, who will be announced at an awards ceremony in The Clore Ballroom, Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre, on 4th June 2014

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Americanah

Hannah Kent – Burial Rites

Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland

Audrey Magee – The Undertaking

Eimear McBride – A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing

Donna Tartt – The Goldfinch