Since our five judges were announced in November, they have been working their way through an incredible 158 books, each submitted in the hope of being selected as the winner of the 2014 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.

The judges have made their decision and we’re delighted to reveal the 20 books longlisted for the 2014 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.

This year’s longlist honours both rising stars of literature and well-established writers, and features six debut writers as well as two previous winners.

Helen Fraser, Chair of Judges, says: “This is a fantastic selection of books of the highest quality – intensely readable, gripping, intelligent and surprising – that you would want to press on your friends, and the judges have been doing just that.”

The judges must now whittle these 20 books to six, before choosing an overall winner to be announced on 4th June 2014.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Americanah

Margaret Atwood – MaddAddam

Suzanne Berne – The Dogs of Littlefield

Fatima Bhutto – The Shadow of the Crescent Moon

Claire Cameron – The Bear

Lea Carpenter – Eleven Days

M.J. Carter – The Strangler Vine

Eleanor Catton – The Luminaries

Deborah Kay Davies – Reasons She Goes to the Woods

Elizabeth Gilbert – The Signature of All Things

Hannah Kent – Burial Rites

Rachel Kushner – The Flamethrowers

Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland

Audrey Magee – The Undertaking

Eimear McBride – A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing

Charlotte Mendelson – Almost English

Anna Quindlen – Still Life with Bread Crumbs

Elizabeth Strout – The Burgess Boys

Donna Tartt – The Goldfinch

Evie Wyld – All The Birds, Singing