We’re absolutely delighted to reveal this year’s Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist! This year’s longlist of sixteen brilliant novels honours both new and well-established writers and a range of genres.

Chair of judges Martha Lane Fox said: “Ahead of the longlist meeting I was anxious that the negotiations between judges might be as arduous as Brexit, but it was an absolute delight to pick our final 16 books. Entries for the Prize’s 25th year have been spectacular and we revelled in the variety, depth, humanity and joy of the writing – we hope everyone else will too.

Joining Martha on the 2020 judging panel are writer and activist Scarlett Curtis, writer and activist, Melanie Eusebe, co-founder of the Black British Business Awards, author and comedian Viv Groskop and Paula Hawkins, international bestselling author.

The longlist of 16 novels follow in alphabetical order by author’s surname:

    • Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara
    • Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner
    • Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams
    • Dominicana by Angie Cruz
    • Actress by Anne Enright
    • Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo
    • Nightingale Point by Luan Goldie
    • A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes
    • How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee
    • The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo
    • The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel
    • Girl by Edna O’ Brien
    • Hamnet by Maggie O’ Farrell
    • Weather by Jenny Offill
    • The Dutch House by Ann Patchett
    • Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

Our brilliant judging panel will now whittle these 16 books down to a shortlist of just 6 novels, announced on April 22nd. The 25th winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction will be announced on Wednesday 3rd June.